Votes
Travis W Condon
Pro Member
Votes |
How does one maximize on allowing pets?

Travis W Condon
Pro Member
Posted Oct 25 2022, 18:45

A long time tenant is moving out and we just posted the home will be available for rent. The first family that responded is asking about allowing a cat. I realize most people will say they wouldn't allow pets. However my question is how does one maximize pet allowances? Add on an additional $50-100 per month? A one time pet deposit seems like it possibly can't cover the cost of damage a dog/cat is capable of doing. I've been investing for almost 3 years and haven't had to deal with pet issues. 

Thank You!

User Stats

Votes
Kim Meredith Hampton
  • Real Estate Broker
  • St Petersburg & Orlando
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • St Petersburg & Orlando
Replied Oct 25 2022, 18:53

@Travis W Condon Allowing pets increases your prospect numbers ten fold. You just need to make sure you perform your due diligence and ask for photos, pet addendum, vet records, monthly pet fee and either a pet deposit/fee

User Stats

Votes
Bruce Woodruff
Pro Member
#3 All Forums Contributor
  • Contractor/Investor/Consultant
  • West Valley Phoenix
Votes |
Pro Member
#3 All Forums Contributor
  • Contractor/Investor/Consultant
  • West Valley Phoenix
Replied Oct 25 2022, 19:00

I never allow pets, be it LTR, STR or whatever..... I know it increases your base, but I have seen many times as a Contractor the real damage a pet can do. Your deposit will never cover the bad ones. Not worth it IMHO...

The real number are - 68% of renters own pets, while only 55% of Landlords allow them.

Rental Home Council logo
Rental Home Council
|
Sponsored
Advocating for Single-Family Rental Housing Drive rental policy change. Protect your investments with a National Rental Home Council membership.

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX