User Stats

Votes
Zack Dasbur
Votes |
Need Help with Tenants and Residential Elevator

Zack Dasbur
Posted Nov 17 2022, 13:01

Hi Everyone, 

I have been buying and renting out high-end townhomes for 4 years now. One of my recent acquisitions I purchased has a private four story residential elevator. The unit is brand new and I have been living in there for the past six months. I recently decided to move to another property and I have tenants and a lease signed for December for my home with the elevator. 

I am a bit worried about my elevator and safety/liability. Do I need to make an addendum for the tenants explaining rules for an elevator and have them sign it so they understand? I am a bit worried in a worst case scenario if something were to happen. I am going to have the elevator inspected by the company that installed it regularly. I obviously can't control how my tenants use it though/who they invite to the house. 

Basically can I make an addendum that covers me if they treat it poorly and it affects someone's safety? Has anyone been in a similar situation? What would you do/go about it in my situation? 

Thanks for your time!

User Stats

Votes
Kenny Smith
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Denver, CO
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Denver, CO
Replied Nov 17 2022, 15:14

@zach dasbur

Great question.  I have not experienced owning a property with an elevator, but your first call should be to your insurance agent!  See what is in your landlord policy, and ensure there are no exclusions for something like this.

They can best walk you through your options and how ensure you have ample coverage.  Good luck!

User Stats

Votes
Richard F.#1 Tenant Screening Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Honolulu, HI
Votes |
Richard F.#1 Tenant Screening Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Honolulu, HI
Replied Nov 17 2022, 19:34
Aloha,