Steve Tse
Pro Member
Votes |
Is it normal to continuously get tenants to requests things

Steve Tse
Pro Member
Posted Nov 17 2022, 13:31

Hi Guys,

I am fairly new at this and was wondering, on average, how many times does your tenant asks for things to be replaced of fixed ? I've had a new tenant for the last 3 months and I keep getting requested to take care of many things such as an icemaker repair, a garage door rail repair, stove light bulb replacement, light switch repair and etc. Tenant lives in a fairly new SFH that has been thoroughly cleaned and everything broken repaired prior to tenant moving in.

What is your strategy to politely let the tenant know that this is not a luxury hotel or all inclusive resort ? How would you deal with this if you manage your own property vs having PM ?

Thank you

User Stats

Votes
Patricia Steiner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Hyde Park Tampa, FL
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Hyde Park Tampa, FL
Replied Nov 17 2022, 13:59

Your experience is not my norm - and my clients and I self-manage our own properties.  A couple of recommendations:

1.  Do a pre-move-in walk of the property with the tenant and take photos of every room - and make note of condition.  Have the tenant initial/sign a checklist showing the condition at move-in and explain both verbally and within your lease that the property is to be returned to you in that condition (less ordinary wear and tear).  Give the tenant a copy of the checklist signed by both of you and provide the photos.  Gets pretty tangible then.

2. Note in your lease and then verbally with your tenant as to what they are responsible for repairing and what you will be.  If they break the garbage disposal by over-filling it or the like, they are responsible for its repair/replacement.

3.  Require Renter's Insurance with Landlord As Additionally Insured.  It's a cheap date and it should be used along with the tenants' personal funds to make any needed repairs.