Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Timothy Allen
Votes |
Trouble with tenant or property manager?

Timothy Allen
Posted Nov 17 2022, 16:06

I have a house in Norfolk that I am renting out using a property manager. It is my first rental property so I am new to learning the ropes, and also active duty Navy so I have spent more time away than around. I got home in October and went by the property where my tenant told me they wanted a storm door and railing for the back door/stairs and told me they contacted the property manager. I contacted the property manager as well and she told me she had submitted the request to the contractor and they would be contacting the tenants to fix the issues. About two weeks ago the work still had not been complete so I, attempted to, instal a railing because the tenants had reported falling down the stairs (there are only two stairs but still I understand the concern). I didn’t intent for this to be a permanent fix and let the property manager know I still need a contractor to get the issue resolved. I get back today and hear the work has still not been completed and the railing had broken. The tenants messages are not threatening but they do show subtle signs of disrespect, the tenant has also mentioned signing a 5 year lease and is landscaping around the house for free because that is their profession. My property manager tells me the contractor is trying to get in touch with the tenants to schedule the work, which I have relayed to the tenants even though I don’t feel like I need to be doing so. My question is, does the issue lie with the tenant, the property manager, or myself? 

User Stats

Votes
Bill Brandt#3 1031 Exchanges Contributor
  • Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Replied Nov 17 2022, 17:00

It’s at least slightly the PM’s fault as this should have been in handled in 1-3 days.