General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Brittany Baird
Votes |
Asset protection for new landlord

Brittany Baird
Posted Jan 29 2023, 15:44

Hi there, I have a single rooftop with three units fully rented in PA. I'm a NJ resident and have an LLC incorporated in the state of NJ. I made the LLC to use for my consulting business but accepted a w-2 position right after I made it so it's never been used. The LLC is in good standing. I have a mortgage on my rental in my personal name. I currently comingle my rental funds but use an advanced budgeting app so everything is tracked. I know I should open a new account. Should I/can I open a bank account in my LLC to collect rent - essential making the LLC the proper manager? Is there a good reason to do this even if the house stays in my personal name? I'm not sure if it matters that I created my LLC for one reason and would use it for another. Beyond this, I'm working on getting an umbrella policy set-up. Any advice welcome, thanks.

User Stats

Votes
Bjorn Ahlblad
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Replied Jan 29 2023, 16:28

@Brittany Baird You can use the existing LLC but you need a resolution to change your current operating agreement for your business and a resolution for the new bank accounts. Make sure you are adequately and properly insured. All the best!

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Jan 30 2023, 04:58
Quote from @Brittany Baird:

The best way to protect yourself: know and obey the law, and treat tenants honestly and fairly. That will cover you 99% of the time. Umbrella insurance is my second recommendation. LLC is my last.

An LLC is useful for two things: anonymity and legal protection. In most cases, neither is warranted.