Question about taking down payment for applicant

10 Replies

This is my first time filling an apartment and I am currently going through the screening process.  My question is about down payments.  Do you take them?  At what point do you take them?  If I've already had one application submitted to me with no down payment, and then someone comes along offering a down payment, can I move the second guy to the front of the line?  Should I reject all down payments and process the applications in the order they were received?  Should I only accept a down payment after an application has been approved?  As you can tell, I'm very unclear about how to handle this.  Thanks in advance for your responses!

-Joe

@Account Closed

You should not be taking deposits until you have selected the tenant who will live in the unit. You should be taking application fee's, usually $30 per person over 18 who will live in the unit.  

Most tenants bring their first months rent and security deposit at the time of lease signing. 

Hope that helps.

I won't accept any money until I've approved the applicant and offer them the house. I don't want to waste my or their time (or be liable for) getting them their money back if I don't approve them. All holding fees are non-refundable unless I'm unable to lease them the house. All security deposits are turned over when they sign the lease

Some bigger complexes and PMs won't accept an application from an applicant without the payment if a deposit. That is so the applicant does not just keep shopping around I guess. 

I do as @Curt Davis  said: payment of application fee with application, payment of deposit upon approval of application. 

Thanks for the responses.  This really helps clarify things!

Account Closed 

The irony, my parents and I were just having this conversation. This is my policy.

First Come First Serve No Hold, Completed/Approve Application, Lease and Security Deposit Reserve the unit