i am a noob and have 3 town houses rentals Question: Good tenants for 3 years new dog has tore up some of the carpet. How do we get them to repair it?

5 Replies

I am a novice investor that started in 2012 and have 3 town houses rentals. I have been blessed with great tenants  Question: Good tenant for 3 years new dog has tore up some of the carpet. How do we get them to repair it? Don't want to lose them but...

@Clifford Madden`  A ripped carpet is not worth making a big deal over when you have a tenant like you describe.  When they move out, replace the carpet.  Have they asked for the carpet to be replaced or repaired?

They already know that they need to pay for the repairs. You may have to put an addedum to the rental agreement that they will be responsible repairs created by their dogs.  You may also have a discussion about removing carpet out of the rental.

@Clifford Madden` first welcome to BP, if they are such great tenants, just split the cost with them, if its only a room it wont be that much. A good carpet person may take a piece out of a closet and patch it then replace the closet carpet. If thats all its like 100-150, but even a new room is less than a months rent. They know they owe for it so if you split it they will prob love you for doing that. 

If the new dog is a puppy, expect more damage has or will occur. Torn carpet is not as bad as the dog urinating on it and it getting into the subfloor. You really need to anticipate what can happen with pets and be sure your rental agreement covers all situations.  If you don't have a pet addendum, you need one. After you sort out what you will do, then modify your agreement for the future.  In our agreement we state: