Why as the landlord of my fourplex I still have to pay HOA?

8 Replies

Hi everyone!

I'm new to this great site and would be more than happy to share my investment experiences and also seek some wisdom from all of you! I bought a fourplex this year in Redlands CA, I'm still wondering why do I have to pay HOA fee to this company as I'm the owner of the fourplex? Pardon me if that's a silly question to somebody. Thanks to whoever answers me!!

HOA stands for homeowners association, it takes care of the common grounds in the neighborhood, and of the swimming pool if there is one. All homeowners pay HOA fees towards that, occupants and investors alike. You can have in your lease a clause that the tenants are responsible for the HOA fee, however if it is not paid you are the one on the hook as the homeowner. I pay it myself, and use the free access to the swimming pool as a way to attract more/better tenants.

Hey Rumen, 

Thanks very much for the reply, I guess what I'm trying to ask is that in my case it's just a company that I hires to mow and sweep the common areas on my lot right? Cuz I still pay separately the electricity, water and gas...I'm just really disappointed with all the monthly bills, I always thought the association would do more than just cleaning the place...

When you own property in an area controlled by the HOA, you have to pay HOA dues. Did you investigate what the dues covered before buying?

I hope you didn't go into this thinking cash flow = rent - PITI. Even banks think its only (75%*rent) - PITI and I think that only works if you're doing the management yourself.

Are landlord paid utilities standard for your area?  Or to tenants typically pay?

Hello @Di Chen