How to get money out from rental / investment property

5 Replies

I am new to real estate investment. 

I recently closed on foreclosed property that required me to buy property on cash. I bought this property with 30K cash. Initial repairing expense is 5K. I am hoping to get tenant in month or so. 

There are few other good deals out there but i dont have cash at hand and those properties are in lower 20Ks so its not worth buying those properties on finance.

My question is that how do i get my cash out from my rental property that is  worth 40K /45K .

IS there a lender that will refinance the original property in your area? Most refi loans will be at between 70-80% of the ARV. If the property you are rehabbing is worth 40k, then even a 70% rehab will get you 28k...which would be enough for your next property.

The problem is finding a lender that will write a loan for less than 50k.  Keep looking until you find one.

The alternative would be to take on a partner on the first property.  Just sell half of it for the amount you need for the second property.

Can you get a HELOC or refinance it into a loan? Lots of options but shop around!

Congrats on your house :)

@Pratik Desai   Several options. 

1. You can carry a promissory note on your property.  Using your first property as a collateral.  

2. A home equity line of credit will let you get the money out. HELOC will have higher interest rate.

3. Cash out refinance into a loan.  This will get you a lower interest rate.

@Joe Villeneuve  ,@Elizabeth Colegrove ,@Steve K.  ,

Thank you for the advise. 

I am thinking of HELOC but banks that i contacted suggested either they dont do HELOC for investment property and some of them required appraisal and will do only commerical credit line.

Refinance for a 40K investment property is not looking very cost effective but that is an option that i am keeping it open.

Promissary note on my property that something i did not explore. Thank you for the suggestion.