Lower Unit Complains About Noise from Upper Unit

4 Replies

My tenant in a lower unit is complaining that she hears the walking about, moving furniture, cracking ceiling noises, etc.  Is there anything I can do to help fix this problem?  She is a new tenant and other than this complaint has no other issues with the unit.  Perhaps she is too sensitive to the noise, I don't know.

It was suggested that I insulate between the upper floor and lower ceiling, which I am willing to do.  However, I have been told that this is better done when the lower unit is vacant.  Is this true?  Any other ideas to remedy the problem?

I am a forum newbie so any ideas would be appreciated.

Hi Mark,

I always soundproof between upper and lower units

make sure you use safe and sound insulation, and do not put drywall just on the wood joist, but there are sound channels (alluminium bars) that get screwed to the wood and then drywall gets screwed to them.  you can google it, there are many videos on youtube.  it might be a little be challenging to do it first time if you have never done it before.  My fist time I did it with my contractor, and now do it myself. 

Good luck

Mark,

The first thing I would ask myself is this noise coming from tile floors in the kitchen and bathrooms and if so I would disregard it. If you have hardwood floors above you could always put down throw rugs or carpeting. If this is an older home I would let her know that this is natural characteristic and beauty of older homes.