If you would be the only game in town, would you?

8 Replies

I have an interesting theory about being a property manager and/or property management group. I know of an area that I'm very familiar with that would be pretty good for purchasing rental properties. However, there are no PM's there to manage those properties. I know there are deals to be had, but since I'm at a distance I'd need a PM. I have family in the area that are business minded and are very interested in real estate and ready to take action.

So.... If you were going to be the only game in town...would you do it?

Yes, I don't see why not? What is the area you are considering?

@Logan Allec it's in Southern Missouri. I grew up there so I'm super familiar with it.

I'm a property manager here and there's a fair amount of competition. But I've seen places where there were only 2 or 3 PM's and it wasn't pretty..... standards are so low..... seemed like everybody suffered, nobody cared.....

@Atwan Kwan I can't imagine that one could change an entire town/city by having standards, but I feel like they could set the proper standards. It would be a few very lean months I'm sure, but if the PM and the investor could stomach the lean times then they could find good tenants. And from the investment side, if you have enough properties with a property manager who knows what they're doing, sticks to their standards, one could have a significant impact on the market. Was that the intention and it just went south after a while?

@Tyson Hosey didn't really understand your response. Point I was trying to make was that minimal competition didn't really provide incentive for standards from what I saw. I guess one could set good standards, but who knows if they would maintain if you're the only shop in town and you're growing.