Evicting vacation rental tenant for smoking in no smoking house

11 Replies

I am brand new in the vacation rental market. I have a very nice property, furnished for short term monthly rentals.  The listing clearly states no smoking several times through out the description.  The tenants have been smoking cigarettes and weed in my nice house.  They have been asked to stop but have not.  My property manager has pictures.  They are slobs and completely disrespecting the property.  We are trying to get them to leave because of the smoking.  The owner of company these men work for is demanding remaining rent back plus security deposit.  I don't want to give security deposit back until I see how badly they treated my house.  I am sick over this.  They are my first renters in a pristine home.  They blatantly keep smoking. How do I get them out.  There are 3 more weeks on the ageement.

For true short term rentals you can usually proceed as hotels do....a lock out. But it seems you’re at 30 days which in most cases puts you in landlord/tenant territory....which would mean you’d never get them out in 3 weeks.
You need a local landlord/STR attorney. Their deposit may not be enough to remediate the smoke smell.

How is the company owner demanding "remaining rent back plus security deposit" if the workers still have three weeks remaining?

I'm not sure where you live but weed is still illegal in most states. If it is illegal in yours, call the cops the next time you smell it.

My main question: why isn't your property manager answering these questions for you?!? 

The damage is done. Unless they are breaking the law and can be arrested, there's not much you can do in the next three weeks except document. Once they are out, clean and repair as necessary and use their deposit to cover the charges. If the deposit doesn't cover the charges, go after the employer that made the reservation.