Inherited Tenant Owes back rent to property owner

5 Replies

Hi All,

I am a property manager who recently took over managing several rentals for a property owner in Oregon. One of the tenants has lived in a rental for over 10 years and been behind on rent for the last 8 years and owes the property owner over $40K in back rent. 

Since I have taken over management of the property, the tenant has paid rent on time every month. The property owner wants me to attempt to collect the back rent, but I am not sure on the best route to take. Any advice for how to best handle this situation? 

@Travis L.

This is not your problem. You are to start collecting rent from that tenant the DAY the property owner signed a contract with you, not to be someone's bill collector and demanding back rent. That is the property owners issue not yours. Even if you take it upon yourself to try, what makes you think you can successfully get over $40K in back rent from a tenant? Some landlords can't even get 3months worth of back rent let alone 8 years.

Tell that property owner that is not your responsibility.

Wow that has got to be the record for worst landlord ever (person you’re buying from)

I'd like to know why he's so concerned about the back rent now but didn't care for 8 years. lol You're job is to worry about now and the future. Anything before you took over isn't your responsibility.