Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties
Account Closed
Votes |
Investing in NYC with high returns

Account Closed
Posted Jun 21 2019, 08:42

I’ve been a real estate agent for two years and I’m looking to get my start in my first property. I live in nyc and most single to multi family properties don’t really cash flow and the barrier to entry is very high. What areas around New York City have properties with a lower entry barrier and the properties cash flow easier. Thanks in advance for your advice.

User Stats

Votes
Anthony Rosa
  • Rental Property Investor
  • New York City
Votes |
  • New York City
Replied Jun 21 2019, 15:24

NYC is expensive and cash flow is tough unless you buy with a hefty downpayment. In NYC it's about the Appreciation. I have 2 two family houses in the Bronx in a "B+" area and I can't afford to buy the properties again because they appreciated tremendously.  Areas around NYC are mostly SF owner occupied in the suburbs with very very high taxes and not worth it for cash flow.  You may find something in the outer boros like the Bronx but entry in a B neighborhood for a 2 family will be in the 650K + range. 

Account Closed
Votes |
Replied Jun 23 2019, 08:10

@Anthony Rosa thank you for your response.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Scott Wolf
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Boca Raton, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Boca Raton, FL
Replied Jun 24 2019, 07:12

@Account Closed I purchased in Dutchess County NY.  Property is cash-flowing very nicely and was super low cost.  Feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

User Stats

Votes
Anthony Rosa
  • New York City
Votes |
  • New York City
Replied Jun 24 2019, 08:10
Originally posted by @Scott Wolf: