Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes

How to find tenants when most people want to own a home?

Nisreen Al-Basha
Posted Jul 11 2019, 17:13

Hello everybody!

I'm new to real estate, and as I'm looking at some houses online, the thought struck me that most other people who are looking at houses on this site want to own their home, not to rent. It's my understanding that in general most people would rather own a home than rent, especially longterm. 

In that case, how do you find tenants who are interested in renting (especially longterm), when most people want to own their own home?

Thank you!

- Niz

User Stats

Votes
Christine Kankowski
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Temecula, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Temecula, CA
Replied Jul 11 2019, 17:42

I think there is a 55% home ownership rate in the country, so that leaves ALOT of people who need to rent.  Even in high end neighborhoods, there are people who are in the city for 2-3 years that dont wantt o commit to a house, or who canpt come up with the down payment, or dont have great credit.  Maybe 2 of their kids will be moving out soon, or they need a place for elderly parents to live with them for a few years and then they plan to retire to BALI.   So Many reasons to rent over buying, there are always people to rent any house. 

User Stats

Votes
Kyle J.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Northern, CA
Votes |
  • Northern, CA
Replied Jul 12 2019, 07:52

@Nisreen Al-Basha Whether they want to own or not, the fact is, a lot of people in the US rent and always will.  (And many people do want to rent by the way.)  

Home ownership rates always seem to hover in the mid 60 percent range, which means 30-something percent of the households in the US are renters.  That's over a 100 million people.  Here's a couple places you can go to check some numbers if you're into that sort of thing:

National Multifamily Housing Council - Quick Facts: Resident Demographics