Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties
Account Closed
Votes |
Remove an unused basement bathroom

Account Closed
Posted Jul 22 2019, 12:42

Dear BP community,

I'm a beginner at this landlord stuff and have owned a multifamily for just about a year and a half. I'm looking for guidance on a pest/bathroom issue.

I  live on the first floor of the unit and my basement is split up so that front of the house has a small bedroom + bath then is a section for the furnace/boiler, then a medium sized studio w/ bathroom in 2nd half towards the back. The front room + bath is unused. It is directly below my bedroom and I do not want to rent it out nor offer it up to the basement studio tenant. We have had a bit of a roach/waterbug issue lately and I've had multiple extermination companies tell me it's due to the unused bathroom. I'm thinking about removing the bathroom. 

My contractor has told me that I can put caps on the bathtub drainhole and remove the showerhead and put a cap also. That's easier enough. Also, it's easy enough to remove the toilet and vanity/faucet but he'd have to cover it up with cement and he assures me that if i ever want to add the bathroom back, breaking up the cement to get to the piping would be easy enough. As long as I own this house, i will never use this bathroom so i dont mind removing it. However, in case i ever want to sell (which i have no plans for at this point in my life), i'm worried that i'm taking away value from my house by removing a full bath. Also, i'm not sold that the cement would be easy to break up and worried that breaking it up would also harm the toilet/faucet piping beneath it.

My question to you is:

1. What do folks think about removing a unused bathroom as far as house value is concerned? The basement still has a full bath in the studio and I can't imagine this bathroom being used unless the small bedroom is rented out also which besides being tiny, is illegal.