• Delray Beach, FL
Votes |
Can I manage properties for a friend w/o being a broker

Mitchell Senkowicz
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Delray Beach, FL
Posted Sep 24 2019, 09:11

Hi, looking for some advice with the legality of entering into property management.

I'm a licensed Realtor in Florida but not a Broker. A friend of mine is asking if I would like to manage a rental of his and maybe add more under management in the future. 

Can I list/lease the property under my broker's name and then manage the property once it's rented on my own or through another LLC? I understand you need a broker's license as a Prop Manger to perform RE activities like listing and leasing, but after that is done and the tenant is in place can I not just have a seperate contract, outside of my brokerage, to manage the day to day operations of the property and get paid directly?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mitch

User Stats

Votes
Tyler Gibson
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Orlando, FL
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Orlando, FL
Replied Sep 24 2019, 09:59

@Mitchell Senkowicz The Management agreement would have to be with your broker not with you. 

https://bizfluent.com/how-6708729-start-property-management-company-florida.html

GPG Team Logo

User Stats

Votes
John Thedford#5 Wholesaling Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Naples, FL
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Naples, FL
Replied Sep 24 2019, 10:38

No. All fees MUST pass through your broker regardless of the timing. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Mitchell Senkowicz
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Delray Beach, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Delray Beach, FL
Replied Sep 24 2019, 10:57

Ok thank you for the responses gentlemen.