Creative Problem Solving for First Time Investors

9 Replies

My husband and I are just starting out on our real estate investing journey. We are located in Sioux Falls, SD, and are looking to buy a small multi-family property to use as an owner-occupied first deal. Unfortunately, Sioux Falls is a seller's market and has been for years. All of the properties we have looked at (through our broker/realtor) are priced anywhere from $30,000-$50,000 above what would financially make sense in our current market (we go by the 1% rule in this area). 

We're looking for long term cash flow, as our goal is for my husband to be able to work just part time in the next 5 years in order to have more time to spend with our growing family (#2 is on the way!). Is it ever worth paying more than what makes financial sense just to get into the market?  If not, what are some tactics we could employ in order to search out some great deals? Thanks in advance!

Hey! I'm a realtor around the Ft. Hood area. We also go off the 1% rule in our market. Luckily, we haven't had an issue of people starting to overprice yet like that yet. Have you looked into other markets around you that you may not move into though? It's a bit more difficult to get into it because you can't take advantage of the low down payment options when you move in, but it may be better than overpaying by a significant margin.

Another option you can go for is a short term rental. Are single-family homes priced better in your area? My first home was a 6bd house because I was moving in with 2 roommates (military life). After they moved out, I rented out the other sections through Airbnb and I continue to do that.

@Cassandra Brown I just did this with my fiancé, and you’re right the Sioux Falls market is tough for multi families right now. Although, there are good deals out there, just need to be patient and seek out motivated sellers (there are more than you think). I sent a PM.