Need help buying a home in a market flooded with cash

5 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I am new to BiggerPockets and still exploring the site, but I wanted to post my situation for feedback.

My wife and I (both 27) are seeking to become first-time homebuyers and have been trying to buy in a particular neighborhood of Sacramento, CA, since March of this year. I have stable employment and we both have strong credit (in the high 700s). We have been through underwriting and are approved for a conventional loan. 

Unfortunately, the area that we hope to call home is currently flooded with investors and cash and our strong conventional offer cannot compete with cash offers that have no contingencies. 

Recently, a fixer went on the market for less than $100k (it is in an area where a non-fixer would generally be worth $200k+). We have the cash available to pay for more than half of the asking price (that would leave us without cash to renovate, though). I am not familiar with private lending, but I thought I would look into it as it seems to me that a good deal could be had all around if a private investor was interested in helping us to purchase the home and finance the necessary renovations, and for us to pay a monthly mortgage to the private investor.

At this point, I have not, of course, had an inspector out to the home and do not know how much renovation it requires. From the photos, I have a hard time believing the renovation work would run more than $50k, but even if it ran much higher, the mortgage would not be an issue for us.

I welcome feedback from anyone familiar with this sort of thing, as I do not know whether this is feasible.

Thank you.

I haven't worked with private money; but I suspect you're going to have a hard time finding a private lender offering terms similar to a regular motgage. Most private lenders will want returns way in excess of that (think double digit interest rates), unless it's family or something along those lines.