Alphaflow: looking for feedback

13 Replies

Hi folks,

As part of figuring out the path forward for me in the real estate investment world I am exploring different options. One of them is crowdfunding and as I have been investing @ LendingClub for a few years, AlphaFlow interests me. I like the fact that I have more diversification which should help isolate from volatility in specific markets. Lending makes sense to me too as it is higher return than traditional investments while I am learning about the REI, how to be a land-lord, etc.

Long preamble, so I am looking for feedback on AlphaFlow. One thing I couldn't figure out is how do they source their loans. I saw that they aggregate from other crowdfunding sites, which ones?  I will be contacting AlphaFlow to setup an initial call to understand their system more. Any feedback from BP members will make it more productive.

Thanks, Vidur

I like AlphaFlow for a lot of reasons, including the instant diversity of being in hundreds of loans at once. I also like the way they give you geographic diversification as well. I don't like the fact that a large number of their loans (more than 50%) are above 70% LTV. In my opinion, anything above that is hard money loan speculation, rather than hard money loan investing, because there isn't enough equity cushion if something goes seriously wrong.

It's not necessarily their fault because they are forced to use whatever is on  the crowdfunding platforms,  and this is a problem across all of them in 2017. For that reason, I personally have moved my hard money loans into funds that originate  loans themselves, so I get into the safer LTV's (the other advantage is that these funds usually allow you to withdraw quarterly, after an initial one year lockup, which gives you added flexibility).