Real Estate Crowdfunding

9 Replies

I am new to real estate investing & wanted to see if anyone has any advice about crowdfunding in general as well as particular sites that they have had good results with?  I suspect there are some good ones out there but don’t know how to weed out the good from the bad & don’t know if this is something good to get into versus direct ownership?  I have a full time job so the passive nature of crowdfunding appeals to me. Thanks!

There are a number of crowdfunding platforms that advertise on this site. Search under marketplace. Also, consider being a private lender.

@Katherine M. So I’d imagine you have go site -> sponsor -> deal. You’ll have to vet each step along the way. And you really have to decide what your own investment thesis is. I’m sure you could find deals for shopping centers, apartments, mobile home parks, etc. A sector doesn’t make any particular deal good or bad so you still have to learn (to some degree) about that sector/niche.

You don’t get the same tax benefits as ownership and you also lock your money up. I can sell my property(s) if I had to and it’s 100% at my discretion. It’s not free to sell. And if I need money quickly I’m at the mercy of low offers, but it’s my decision. Once you’re a passive investor in a syndication, you’re passive.

And, not for nothing, but a lot of sites and/or deals necessitate that you be an accredited investor. If you don’t meet the thresholds for that you narrow your options.

@Katherine M. it's just like direct investing in that you should underwrite 100 deals before doing one.  Doing so will give you the insight to spot a good deal and equally important, a good sponsor.

One last thing, if investing 50k in one deal saps your liquidity, you're not ready and should consider keeping more cash on hand first.