• Real Estate Investor
  • Northern, CO
Votes |
First Deal (sorry for the length)

John R.
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Northern, CO
Posted Jul 20 2015, 19:28

I’ve been a bigger pockets member since sometime in 2011. I originally joined just to read up on different topics thinking someday I might invest in multifamily properties. I read and read trying to educate myself on everything I could. Here’s the story on my first property.

A little about me to start off, I grew up on a large farm and ranch and consider myself a jack of all trades. I know lots about construction, electrical, mechanical, and operating heavy equipment. Now I'm 29 years old and I work as an engineer in the energy industry . As an engineer, I am naturally drawn to things that require financial analysis. I used to waste my weekends browsing and analyzing properties on loopnet. I suffered from "paralysis by analysis" for about 3 years (that combined with I didn't have any money) but in those 3 years I decided I wanted to buy an owner occupied 4-plex and that I would go the FHA route for financing and eventually I would find the right property.