Warren Bright
  • Cape Town, Western Cape
Votes |
My First Apartment - A Journey

Warren Bright
  • Cape Town, Western Cape
Posted Sep 22 2015, 01:58

Hello everyone!

In this thread you can expect to find my real estate journey to purchasing my first apartment, how I go about it and of course the story behind my interest in real estate.

Let me start off by thanking everyone who has posted their stories / deals / mistakes / leanings as they have all been much appreciated, There's nothing quite like learning from the experience of others, and I am so grateful to everyone who has been so honest about their situation, even if it wasn't a glamorous one.

A little bit about me before I get into what this post will be about: I am a 22 y/o student based in South Africa and have had a keen interest in real estate ever since I was a young kid. I remember (and still do) lapping up all the renovation shows on TV, Grand Designs being my absolute favourite of them all. There's something almost poetic about turning a house from grunge into glory, and I am already anticipating the countless amounts of adrenalin rushes.

I have to give credit to my parents who have helped a lot when it comes to teaching me financial sense. They always told me how important saving is, and not spending your money in one go. Sometimes I do get frustrated as like everyone I also want instant gratification, but it's the long term thinking that has allowed me to push through those weak moments. It really frustrates and in a sense makes me sad to see people my age 'throw' their money away on frivolous things and spend cash without blinking their eyes, and then complain how broke they are. But I know adopting this kind of long term thinking will benefit me down the line.

I am on a mission and am going to stop at nothing to build my real estate empire.