I am 16. I want to invest in Real Estate. Where do I start?

14 Replies

I am 16 I have $1000 I made this summer. Currently I have all of this money in a stock trading account. I have been trading for a few months. It is not for me. I want to do real estate. I want to do it now. Where do I start with the money I have? What investments would be good for me to achieve my overall goal of a Ferrari?

Welcome to BP @Jackson Maitner  

Real estate is not a get rich quick game. It is a get rich slowly and consistently game. The best way to lose that $1000 is to be in a hurry.

Take time to learn the business, learn how to evaluate deals and learn your market. You can do all of that for free. and most of it right here on BP

Good stuff!! First off you are light years ahead of your peers and by doing so, you have just separated yourself from the masses. I invest in notes secured by real estate way better returns than the stock market. Connect with me, I will share with you what I do.

@Jackson Maitner ,

I agree - well done that you're looking to do something other than spend your money on something.

You've got time to study - you need to be at least 18 years of age almost everywhere to be legal to sign a binding contract. Take advantage of that time to learn.

Trading paper is a logical next step when you're already familiar with other forms of trading. Learn from Roland and other notes mentors.

Then, when you're of age and you're ready, start exploring buying properties for income and ROI.

The first step is to ask permission from your mom. Since you're a minor, you cannot sign a deed that would be valid. Sux, but so is life. 

Don't let it stop you from getting an education and saving up some more money. You'll be ready to rock when you turn 18 and will be able to legally transact without parental consent.

Originally posted by @Shawn Jacobs:

Hey @Jackson Maitner,