Turnkey/Passive Distant Investor

21 Replies

Hi everyone,

I am new to Bigger Pockets; from NJ, but living out of the country in Asia on work.  

I am yet to invest in a property, but ironically have been thinking more lately being so far away.

I want to invest in commercial real estate, or multi-family homes ideally but not sure if my budget can handle it.  As I am far away, geography isn't an issue as whatever property I choose to invest in has to be maintained by another person.

I am looking for passive/turn-key distant investor friendly deals but has been difficult to find deals in the $30-40k all in range; ideally would like to do about 2-3 deals per year. Any advise in this regard would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Pranay.

You can probably find a few multi-family properties in the midwest, possibly Cleveland and Indianapolis in this price range. Both of these areas seem to be pretty popular in the marketplace properties for sale section on BP. https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/517-real-estate-marketplace?property_listings=true

Promotion
Contracoin
Bridging between Crypto and Real Estate
Get ready to buy your next property using Crypto
Using crypto to own property, leverage #CTCN in buying your next home and more
Time to buy property

Parany,

I will echo what @Lane K. says. As remote investor, you need trouble free properties and quality management. Just search on BP about mid-west PIGS and you will find literally thousands of posts regarding the risks and downside possibilities. 

In my opinion, when you are that far away, slow, steady and safe growth is better then fast, variable and risky. You would be better off doing 1 x $100K deal per year then 3 x $30K deal per year for several years.

Also, the quality of your management company is critical with you being so far away. Just think what you would do if (worst case scenario) you uncovered that they were stealing from you.

Good luck,

Oren