Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes

Opportunity to buy a flip at $150k, "zestimate" is 340k

Posted May 6 2018, 15:12

Hello all, 

Background: I'm 21 years old, less than 5k in the bank, working on becoming a real estate agent in Colorado. I work in the oil field (~90k/year, heavily taxed) and am in the process of paying down debt ~10k before I start saving to be able to quit and be a REA. I am fascinated by the thought of not having immediate "bosses" and by taking my income into my own hands. I've always tried to work harder and longer than the next guy and put in 110%, so I know that I can have huge success as a REA. I have the drive and will work 7 days a week as many hours as it takes to succeed. However my interests go further, I eventually want to invest and own rentals so that I can have "passive" income on top of commission sales.

I have the opportunity to purchase the home that I have been renting for 3 years, for ONLY what the Landlord owes on the house. ~150k, and the "zestimate" is 340k. I have not gotten the home appraised however I am aware of the condition and of what it needs. This house could sell as-is right now, for 275k EASY. I'd like to put some work into it, carpet, backyard work (dogs digs holes), roughly 10k in plumbing (basement flooding yearly issues), and 2x bathroom remodel (kitchen already remodeled)