Votes
Seth Davis
  • Lexington, NC
Votes |
Diary of a Construction Business Startup

Seth Davis
  • Lexington, NC
Posted Jun 12 2019, 07:41

Hello everyone! My name is Seth Davis. I introduced myself earlier in the newbie forum. Feel free to and read my post if you have time.

I have recently decided to pursue a new passion of mine which is building and construction. I'm 39 years old, but I figured it's never too late to get started with something new. Plus, it helps keep the brain in tip-top shape! I have been a professional software developer for 20 years now, and absolutely love technology and programming, but I'm looking for something to spark that imagination and wonder again, and building and construction seems to be doing that. I never went to college, so I only have a high-school diploma. Everything I know was self taught, or learned from mentors along the way. Over the years I have realized that if you are genuinely interested in something that someone is passionate about, they will teach you things about it that you could never learn from a book.

My initial plan is to do spec builds, particularly technologically-advanced spec builds: Smart, robust home network, and high speed / reliable indoor/outdoor Wi-Fi. I figured I would try to play to my strengths.

The goal of this thread is to basically document my entire process of starting my business from the ground up and pursuing (and hopefully completing) my first build. Please feel free to criticize, advise, ask questions, or anything else, as I will be doing the same along the way. This will be an on-going thread. So, without further adieu, let's get caught up with what I have done so far.

Goals
You need goals. Goals help fuel the passion. Here are my personal goals for this journey:

1-3 Months
- Finish studying for GC exam
- Register and take the exam (pass the exam!)
- Find the most useful accounting software (Freshbooks seems good so far)
- Begin learning the PlanSwift estimating software