• Rental Property Investor
  • Guam
Votes |
My Investment Property Journey

Robert T. Brown
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Guam
Posted Aug 28 2019, 10:37

My mother always says “nothing can happen before the time.” Well...the time is now!!!

As I am a Navy nurse currently stationed in Guam, I chose to utilized my time wisely. After 17 years of active duty service at only 34 years old, my priorities in life are a lot different than my peers. After watching YouTube videos on finances and investing, I knew that I wanted to diversity my portfolio with more rental properties ( got my first rental in GA at 23).

I followed Bigger Pockets on YouTube and Twitter, read a couple of post and watched a few videos but wasn't quite hooked yet. I decided I wanted to read more books and have a well rounded grasp of money and REI.

I literally finished reading Rich Dad Poor Dad last week and I was ready to invest more of my money.

I was nervous about getting started again but the Bigger Pockets network is so great with a wealth of knowledge for beginners.

I started look at turnkey rental properties in Jacksonville, FL. Though I am living in Guam, I knew I wanted to invest in a property that required little to no work. So I started to look for properties on Sunday (8/25) and on Monday (8/26), I found a great home. I had often heard ppl say “you have the analysis the deal and make sure that it cash flows.” I didn’t know anything about analyzing a deal.

I ending up finding a video by Brandon Turner using the rental property calculator to analyze a deal. I thought to myself "that wasn't so bad, just plug the numbers in." So I plugged the numbers in and boy!!! The property would cash flow $300+/mon with a +20% ROI. I figured that has to be a good deal.