• Greenville, SC
Votes |
Story Time: A Rookie Gets Started in the Pandemic

Jacob Allen
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Greenville, SC
Posted Apr 19 2021, 11:51

Fair warning, this is a long post where I share my REI journey and I'd like to thank all of the BiggerPockets community for the support they have provided along the way!

Hello! My name is Jacob Allen and I wanted to write this post as a thank you to the BiggerPockets community for all their help, and to share my story thus far and some details on my first deal!

I'm going to start this journey with a quick introduction about me, and then we'll jump to post-college and how I fell into REI, I was born and raised in Kansas in a middle-class family. After high school I left for college in Virginia at the Virginia Military Institute. While there I studied Civil Engineering, got involved in Engineers Without Borders, and picked up Rugby as my new favorite sport. I graduated college in 2016 and had a job offer for an engineering firm in Atlanta, GA and left immediately for the "big city" life. Being from Kansas, Atlanta was much more city than I had ever seen before. Additionally as I attended a military college I accepted a commission to serve as an officer in the Army National Guard. So with 2 jobs lined up I headed out to start my careers.

Everything was fine and normal for awhile, I got up, commuted to work, grinded from 9-5, played rugby in the evenings, and drank on the weekends. Pretty average early 20s young professional type life style. On New Years Eve (2016-2017) in a bar in downtown Atlanta I would meet the woman who is now my wife! We would become inseparable, she finished grad school at UGA and moved to Atlanta and got an apartment about a mile away from me. We would continue dating through 2017 and into 2018, and this is where my journey with REI begins.