Oregon Coast House - Step by Step

27 Replies

Not sure if many people here go step by step through their process of acquiring and setting up their STR or any rentals for that matter. I am new to STR but my wife and I are under contract expecting to close end of next month. We are buying on the Oregon Coast a small place overlooking Tillamook Bay and a short walk/drive to the beach.

I have so many questions and thing on my to do list I was searching the forums for a step by step, maybe there is one and y'all can post a link, however I am going to work to post the process we go through as we complete our purchase, stage the home, buy supplies, set up our systems.  I have been reading for months on how many of you do it and appreciate all the insights.

There are many post about setting up a vacation rental including  lists of items needed, importance of great pictures and descriptions etc.

There are many posts about setting up a vacation rental including a lists of items needed, importance of great pictures and descriptions etc.

Hey @Jonathan Stone , what @John Underwood and @Paul Sandhu said. Do a search and you will find all sorts of great info!

Gratz on the new place. We almost bought in Lincoln City but flood insurance was nutz so we passed.

The first thing you really need to do is get a good cleaner ready to go and find a handyperson that will be your on-call for repairs. The cleaner is the most important part of your setup. Unless you are planning on driving down and doing it yourself. It is only 1.5 hours give or take. :)

Tell us more about the house. How big? Post a pic of the views of the bay! Is it furnished or do you have to start from scratch? What kind of guests are you hoping to get?

@Michael Baum

The house is just about 900 sqft. One bedroom which is really a loft style room. Fairly simple small kitchen 1 bath. It also sits 3 stories tall, garage then main then loft.