Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions

User Stats

Votes
Richard Davis
Votes |
Addendum for Rental Arbitrage?

Richard Davis
Posted Feb 7 2022, 10:36

I'm getting into rental arbitrage, and I'd like to have an addendum I can offer to landlords to be added to their existing lease. The idea is to cross out the "No subletting" clause from the lease and replace it with "See addendum." The addendum should at least specify that I'm allowed to do short-term sublets through AirBnb, etc. Perhaps there are also other clauses it would be helpful to include for my arbitrage business.

Does anyone have an addendum for this purpose that they'd be willing to share? Or even a set of points that should definitely be covered somehow in an addendum? I'm a newbie and would certainly be grateful.

User Stats

Votes
Rick Albert#3 House Hacking Contributor
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Los Angeles, CA
Replied Feb 7 2022, 11:06
I haven't done this yet but as a landlord I would want a lot of assurances.

-What kind of insurance to project the landlord? Having them named as additionally insured.
-What happens if laws change and you can no longer do Airbnb? What happens then?
-If the city imposes fees or taxes, who covers it? For example Malibu requires a 15% tax on gross revenue. 

Those are some initial thoughts.

User Stats

Votes
John Underwood
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • Greer, SC
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Greer, SC
Replied Feb 7 2022, 11:25
Quote from @Rick Albert:
I haven't done this yet but as a landlord I would want a lot of assurances.

-What kind of insurance to project the landlord? Having them named as additionally insured.
-What happens if laws change and you can no longer do Airbnb? What happens then?
-If the city imposes fees or taxes, who covers it? For example Malibu requires a 15% tax on gross revenue. 

Those are some initial thoughts.