Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions

User Stats

Votes
Parul Bhasin
Votes |
Buying STR in Smoky Mountains

Parul Bhasin
Posted Jul 9 2022, 14:27

Hi, I am trying to find STR in smoky's under $200,000 with 2BD and great views. Market is too hot right now so I am ready to wait for a few months to get a good deal. I have heard TN is a better option than NC due to low taxes. Can you recommend good areas within Smoky's that are in my budget?

I am a newbie so any help/recommendations are appreciated. Thanks.

User Stats

Votes
Ken Boone
  • Investor
  • Greenville, SC
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Greenville, SC
Replied Jul 9 2022, 14:31

uh nowhere.  sorry man that is just the facts.

User Stats

Votes
Collin H.
Pro Member
#4 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Gatlinburg, TN
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Gatlinburg, TN
Replied Jul 9 2022, 14:36
Quote from @Parul Bhasin:

Hi, I am trying to find STR in smoky's under $200,000 with 2BD and great views. Market is too hot right now so I am ready to wait for a few months to get a good deal. I have heard TN is a better option than NC due to low taxes. Can you recommend good areas within Smoky's that are in my budget?

$200K is going to be tough.  I would say $300K is more the low-end of realistic, and that would probably be in Cosby.

That being said, there’s nothing wrong with Cosby whatsoever.  I bought a wonderful property there about 14 months ago that is yielding about 25%, annual rents % to purchase price.  

Cosby is being discovered though:  When I bought my first property there in 2005, there were 20-25 listings for Cosby on VRBO.  Now there are hundreds.  

Good luck in your search!

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Luke Carl#3 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor