• Rental Property Investor
  • Chandler, AZ
Votes |
SFH Airbnb Available Half the Month

Ben Spaeth
  • Chandler, AZ
Posted Sep 17 2022, 20:08

I'm a cargo pilot and travel at least half the month. I'm thinking about buying a house and STR with a manager while I'm flying. Planning ~$800,000 range, pool, No HOA, 4-5 bedrooms with the master off limits to guests. Chandler and Gilbert area preferred. Any thoughts? I need a good real estate accountant as well if anyone has a recommendation.

User Stats

Votes
Michael Baum
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Olympia, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Olympia, WA
Replied Sep 17 2022, 20:20

Hey @Ben Spaeth. That could work OK. Seeing as you are traveling a lot, it might be harder to manage it yourself as you might be in the air when you need to check in.

By using a PM, you will lose most if not more of your profitability, but that might be OK as it will cut down on your mortgage costs.

Get a CPA who is an actual investor and not someone who just took some classes. They can be anywhere so you are not limited to AZ.

User Stats

Votes
Luke Carl#3 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Tennessee Florida
Votes |
Luke Carl#3 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Tennessee Florida
Replied Sep 18 2022, 04:07

@Michael Baum nailed it. No other replies needed 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Paul Sandhu#4 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • The worst town to live in, KS
Votes |
Paul Sandhu#4 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • The worst town to live in, KS
Replied Sep 18 2022, 07:50

You'll also have someone in your house when you are not there for half a month.