Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions

User Stats

Votes
Willert Morris
Votes |
STR in Desert Hot springs, Ca what are the risks and rules

Willert Morris
Posted Nov 2 2022, 13:46

I did airbnb in NYC for over 5 years, and thinking of doing  short term rentals. I read they are allowed in Desert Hot Springs and have been

looking at mobile homes and condos there.  My sister said there were a lot of gangs  and some crime it being noted for drugs?

I don't want to end up with bad tenants bringing in large groups, and destroying the property.  Is there a airbnb management

company that will screen tenants and handle the housekeeping?   Since I'm new to the  desert don't want to "lose my  shirt"

Pauline

User Stats

Votes
Paul Sandhu#4 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Investor
  • The worst town to live in, KS
Votes |
  • Investor
Replied Nov 2 2022, 13:54
Run it the same way you did your Airbnb in NYC.  You don't want to be in hot water in Hot Springs.

User Stats

Votes
Michael Baum
Pro Member
#2 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Olympia, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#2 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Olympia, WA
Replied Nov 2 2022, 15:07

Hey @Willert Morris, here is some info on the crime there.

https://www.neighborhoodscout....

Looks pretty dangerous in a lot of the area.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
  • Investor
Votes |
  • Investor
Replied Nov 2 2022, 15:30
Quote from @Michael Baum:

Hey @Willert Morris, here is some info on the crime there.

https://www.neighborhoodscout....

Looks pretty dangerous in a lot of the area.

It does look pretty bad, and I live in the worst town to live in in Kansas.

User Stats

Votes
Melissa Nash
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Orange County, CA
Votes |
  • Orange County, CA