Votes
Patrick J. Mayo
Pro Member
Votes |
Diverse STR locations

Patrick J. Mayo
Pro Member
Posted Feb 1 2023, 14:29

I'm new to real estate. My rookie brain would like to pick 3-5 areas to purchase STRs that compliment each other so that one area is cash flowing when the other is not. Like a summer beach house and a winter cabin. Is anyone using this strategy? Personally I'd love to have STRs on the Gulf Coast, near ski resorts, and a few other spots. I'd love to visit them with my family during the off season as well. If this has merit... what would be a good combination of locations? Thanks.

User Stats

Votes
V.G Jason
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Feb 1 2023, 14:32
Quote from @Patrick J. Mayo:

I'm new to real estate. My rookie brain would like to pick 3-5 areas to purchase STRs that compliment each other so that one area is cash flowing when the other is not. Like a summer beach house and a winter cabin. Is anyone using this strategy? Personally I'd love to have STRs on the Gulf Coast, near ski resorts, and a few other spots. I'd love to visit them with my family during the off season as well. If this has merit... what would be a good combination of locations? Thanks.

I'm a big believer in this approach. I'm going with 1 year round, two seasonal(winter one and summer one). And taking it from there, haven't done one yet. Want to do 1 or 2 this year but mainly focusing on LTRs.

Hawaii is my first target, if I can make that work. Ideally, the trio would be Hawaii, Scottsdale, and West Palm Beach. Scottsdale may be getting too played up for a winter-focus one, but I'm having a hard time finding an alternative one. WPB has a strong winter sometimes too, much like Miami. So maybe that one will pay off more than just a summer one. And I can do something like WPB and Hilton Head(summer focus).

User Stats

Votes
Ryan Moyer
  • Property Manager
  • Orlando Kissimmee, Davenport
Votes |
  • Property Manager