Skip to content
Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions

User Stats

Votes
Christopher Lynch
  • Providence, RI
Votes |
How much cashflow do you make with your STR?

Christopher Lynch
  • Providence, RI
Posted May 26 2023, 16:04

Hi All, I have been doing due diligence on buying a short term rental in NH. Most information I have come across show they make more cashflow on average then the LTR model. 

I would love to hear from some current STR investors and hear about your personal experience. How much cashflow do you make on your STR and what should I expect?

User Stats

Votes
Mohammed Bala
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Queens NY
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Queens NY
Replied May 26 2023, 18:34

STR Cash flow has relatively decreased as compared to 2 to 3 yrs ago. Honestly I'm new to it but so far is not proving to beat my other LTRs cash flow.

User Stats

Votes
Brooklyn McCarty
Pro Member
  • Investor
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
Replied May 26 2023, 18:37

Cash flow is going to depend on so many factors! The biggest is management. 

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Collin H.
Pro Member
#4 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Gatlinburg, TN
Votes |
Pro Member
#4 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Gatlinburg, TN
Replied May 26 2023, 18:38
Quote from @Mohammed Bala:

STR Cash flow has relatively decreased as compared to 2 to 3 yrs ago. Honestly I'm new to it but so far is not proving to beat my other LTRs cash flow.

All depends on how much debt you’re paying for.  

User Stats

Votes
Michael Baum
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Olympia, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions Contributor
  • Olympia, WA
Replied May 26 2023, 20:00