Alabama Tax Certificates and Deeds

7 Replies

As an attorney I often find people waste their time and money on incomplete tax property  "quiet title" actions.  If you have spent the time and money to acquire the rights to possess the property, make sure you quiet the title properly otherwise it will not allow you to sell the property.  

Greg Stanley, Attorney

Moderator of Face book's "Alabama Tax Sale Investor's Club"

AMEN!!! @Gregory Stanley . And remember, if you have not gained possession "lawfully" you will not be able to quiet title, no matter how long you've held it afterwards.

I am stull burning redemption rights but as an average how much is an uncontested quiet title action? 

@Jeremy W. it depends on whether you are able to do an in personam or an in rem quiet title. In personam to a default could be as little as $500 to $750 in legal fees. In rem to a default can run between $3,000 to $5,000 because it is more complicated and also requires a guardian ad litem.  @Gregory Stanley , do you want to weigh in on this?  My law license is in Texas, not Alabama, so I know about attorneys fee ranges from asking people, but not just from general living and talking to attorneys all the time, like Greg.

Thanks @Denise Evans .  Each case is different.  I typically stick to an agreed-upon set fee so the client has no surprises; but as you said, the fee depends on complexity, publication, attorney ad litem, title search, number of defendants, etc.