Skip to content
California Real Estate Q&A Discussion Forum

User Stats

Votes
Henry Murray
  • Investor
  • Redondo Beach, CA
Votes |
New to real estate investing and excited to learn!

Henry Murray
  • Investor
  • Redondo Beach, CA
Posted Jun 14 2018, 12:35

Hi Bigger Pockets!

I had posted this in the starting out forum but I wasn't sure where it should go so I'm posing here in the New Member Intorductions as well.

I've had this idea in my head for a couple years now about buying property and then renting all or part of it out in order to develop an alternative income stream and I just found out about the bigger pockets community a couple of months ago. I’ve been reading through the forums on a regular basis, I’ve read “Set for Life” recently, and I worked through creating my own rental calculator like Scott did in the book to try and better understand all of the money related aspects that go into a rental property. I also work full time as an Engineer and all-in-all I do enjoy it. My end goal is financial independence and my plan is to use my savings from my W2 job to invest in more passively managed real estate that will cash flow positive and build equity over time. I know that I have a lot to learn and that it’ll require quite a bit of effort and time, and I’m willing to do the work, but the problem is that I’m not really sure where I should go to learn more and how to get started now.