Skip to content
New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes

18 and new to Investing

Posted May 13 2022, 09:01

Hello everyone! My name is Antonio and I’ve been interested in real instate investing since I was in high school. I’m currently a full-time student at my local community college studying Political Science and I’ve also been working part time to start saving. So far I’ve accumulated around 10k in savings that I hope to invest. I do have some self doubt as I’m only 18 but we all have to start somewhere. Glad to take a step towards achieving my real estate goals by joining this website and I strive to continue this journey.

User Stats

Votes
Alex Breshears
  • Lender
  • Springfield, MO
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Springfield, MO
Replied May 13 2022, 09:15

Hi Antonio!  What a great way to start at 18! I wish I had that kind of insight back then. And it's awesome you have been able to save!  The first thing I am going to recommend is attending some local meetups for investors in the area you want to invest in. If the area you want to invest in isn't local, there are still plenty of virtual meetups you can attend to start meeting others for boots on the ground of support.  I would also suggest thinking about and learning more about the different strategies there are to investing. There is a lot more out there than buying rental houses or doing fix and flips. A LOT MORE.  Think about what your strengths are, and what you would need to get a deal done for the type of investing you want to do, then go find a partner to fill in those gaps.  Another great thing to do would be to find a mentor in your area doing the type of investing you want to do. This might involve a lot of sweat equity on your part as they show you the ropes, but you sound really motivated!  Good luck in your journey!

User Stats

Votes
Steven Foster Wilson
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
  • Columbus, OH
Replied May 13 2022, 09:20
Quote from @Antonio Jeremiah Yambao: