User Stats

Votes
Janice Reaves
Votes |
Teacher: New to REI-Wholesale; Sub To; Airbnb; Flips; Rentals

Janice Reaves
Posted Jul 20 2022, 16:52

Greetings!! 

My name is Janice R.   Currently, I work as a math, special needs, and ESL teacher. I am certified both in NJ and NY states holding Masters' degrees. I live in the northern NJ, Hackensack area.  FYI, before teaching I worked in Corporate America for major global companies, i.e. JP Morgan Chase, Citi-Group, UBS to name a few in various roles, such as, Accounting, Project Management, Business Analysis, Strategy. I also hold a BS in Accounting from Fairleigh Dickinson University, Graduate level Tech certification in Analysis & Design of Information Systems from Columbia University in NYC.

I plan to start my REI journey/career on a part time basis while teaching. My most immediate goal is liquidity!!! Let's get my 1st deal done and get some cash in my pockets while obtaining some experience. I am open to obtaining my NJ RE license, but after listening to some of gurus on You Tube, it appears that it's "nice to have"; but not a necessity as I am interested more in the "investment" side of the business. What are your thoughts?!!

My current REIs focus is on Wholesaling, Subject To, Airbnb, flips, short/long term rentals, tiny homes, and RVs and mobile homes.

I am open to suggestions, advice, to meet up and team up.

Thanks to all!!!

User Stats

Votes
David M.
  • Morris County, NJ
Votes |
  • Morris County, NJ
Replied Jul 20 2022, 17:35

@Janice Reaves

we've had plenty of prior posts on the license. Don't forget it costs about $2k-$3k annually just to keep your license active normally. So, if you aren't doing many on-market deals through the MLS it won't be worth it. Plus, there is the concept that being a real estate agent is still a profession. When will you have time to truly learn the profession? Find a good agent and let him/her do the work for you.