Skip to content
New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes

Newbie looking for advice

Frederick Gilpin
Posted Jan 8 2023, 12:09

Hi, I’m new to real estate investing. I plan on having my first property by next year.   Should I start a Wyoming Llc? Is it necessary? 

User Stats

Votes
John Slater
  • Real Estate Coach
  • Riverside County, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Coach
  • Riverside County, CA
Replied Jan 8 2023, 18:44

@Frederick Gilpin Are you in Wyoming? if so, then at some point it will make sense to create an entity... I have both LLC's and S Corps depending on the investment.

If you aren't in Wyoming and just heard the idea of a "Wyoming" entity because the tax is lower than your own state, definitely get the advice from a real estate tax person.  KKOS lawyers are who I used for everything.  My understanding is you pay taxes in whichever state you transact business.

User Stats

Votes
Jerry W.
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Thermopolis, WY
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Thermopolis, WY
ModeratorReplied Jan 8 2023, 18:46

@Frederick Gilpin Welcome to BP bud.  There are lots of opinions on that subject.  While I like LLCs, let me just tell you the pro's and con's.  First are you a high wealth person, or will the house be a large part of your total net worth.  The reason I ask is that LLCs are y

to protect your welath. The less wealth you have the less reason to worry about getting an LLC right away. You can always form an LLC later and transfer the property into it later. I would suggest getting an LLC in the state you are going to invest in. Wyoming has great LLC laws, but the law of the state the property is located in is the law that will apply, not Wyoming law. Next you will have to get a loan and you will have to personally guaranty the loan anyway, but in my experience getting a loan in an LLC costs about 1% higher in interest than getting a loan in your personal name.