Newbie from (Fayetteville North Carolina)

16 Replies

My name is Phillip, I am originally from NC. I am in the military and live in Okinawa. I have zero experience in real estate (I've always been very debt adverse) I actually found Bigger Pockets through one of my other investment podcast (@jrdorkin was featured) My long term goal would be to own 20+ units. However, I am just learning about the industry and am joining to gain some insight and see other peoples questions. I'm sure I will be asking some crazy questions please just bare with my rookie-ness.

Thanks George! I am sure I will be in touch with you. It seems like it would be very difficult to do your due diligence at a distance like we are, yet I think it will be beneficial to take a step back and truly get a strategy and guidelines to follow. I have always invested (since I was 18) but mostly stocks/mutual funds/ETFs ect. So this area of investing is very new to me. Thanks again for the hospitality !

Hey Dawn! I actually heard your podcast last night. I felt that is was pretty insightful especially being able to relate to the area as well as the learning about being a Real Estate agent as a first step. If/when I go home to visit it would be awesome to grab coffee and pick your brain.

P.S GO Tar Heels !

@Phillip Boyd

Welcome.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com You can do these via phone.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul