• Jenison, MI
Votes |
New investor from Jenison/Grand Rapids, Michigan

Mark Jager
  • Sr. Software Engineer, MCPD
  • Jenison, MI
Posted Oct 8 2015, 07:22

Hello Bigger Pockets!

Just wanted to introduce myself and says thanks for such a great resource!  I've been pouring over the blogs and forums absorbing as much knowledge as I can.  The last 3 weeks I've attended the webinars, read ebooks, and have started listening to podcasts.  There is so much good information here, and I'm taking in as much as I can to help jump start my career in RE investing.

A little about myself:  I'm 35 years old and have been happily married to a wonderful wife for 8.5 years and have a son (2 years) and daughter (7 months).  I've been a software developer for 17 years specializing in Microsoft technologies and have my BS degree in Information Systems.  15 years ago I started learning about RE investing from a co worker that was embarking on this journey, and I read books like Rich Dad Poor Dad, Cashflow Quandrant, Total Money Makeover, How to Win Friends and Influence People, and other various "motivational/self-help books".  I found all this very fascinating and exciting but being young, and lacking money I found the prospect of RE very intimidating and focused on what I was comfortable with which is technology.  Starting a family further derailed my dreams of RE investing as it just seemed too risky at the time.  Now I find myself coming to the realization that the best time to act is now.  I can no longer make excuses and if I want to truly provide for my family then I need to start taking steps now to achieve my goals.  Although I make a decent salary, and benefits provided are nice, I don't have much more room for salary growth, and it just isn't going to cut it if I want to give my family everything they deserve.