Do you need to go to real estate school for real estate license

10 Replies

Do you need to go to real estate school for your real estate license? if you know enough information to go take it on your own without the real estate school can you just go get your liscence?

Originally posted by @Romir Talley :

Do you need to go to real estate school for your real estate license? if you know enough information to go take it on your own without the real estate school can you just go get your liscence?

Hello!  My name is Michael Lee.  I have been a Real estate broker since 1980.  As far as I can tell you that you need to go to school no matter what.  Just check that from the people that runs the license bureau.  I have lived in Dallas most of my life and Texas requires a non-owner has to have a license to sell anything and pay the fee.  Good luck to you and Let me know if I could help you.

Originally posted by @Romir Talley :

I seriously doubt you'd pass the test, maybe if you were a lawyer, no guarantee if you were. You need to learn real estate before dealing in real estate. 

For the test, you could be asked how many acres do you have if you have 58,080 square feet in a meets and bounds legal description? Most won't know that off the top of their heads! 

You don't learn real estate from public forums, blogs, videos or gurus, so take a class. :)

I'm taking the course for New York State RE license now.  Thought I would breeze through because of my investing experience.  Not even close.  It's tough.  Lots of memorization.  I'm taking this very seriously and hope I pass!  Fingers crossed.  Good luck.

Folks, whatever your text book may be, here's what I suggest.

Read it all, skip the tests and just read the text to be familiar with the material.

Then go back and read it for content again.

Then take the tests at each chapter, review questions missed.