New Investor, Long-time Lurker, Looking for Next Place in Seattle

4 Replies

Hi Everyone,

My name is Steven and I am a new investor looking for my next property in the Seattle area. I currently live in and own a condo in Capitol Hill and am searching for a small multi to house hack or value add single family to fix up using a renovation loan (HomeStyle or other). Ideal locations are neighborhoods near downtown (Central District/Cap Hill, North Beacon Hill, West Seattle, North Seattle, etc.)

My work background is in the project management side of the construction industry. I graduated from the University of Washington with a degree in construction management and am currently a consultant working on large transportation projects for WSDOT. 

I am also currently enrolled in the Commercial Real Estate certificate program through UW to learn more about financing, development, etc. of commercial real estate.

Overall, my plan is to acquire long term buy and hold residential and/or commercial properties in core areas or emerging corridors.

I am excited to get more involved in the real estate community. Please let me know if you have any advice/have used the HomeStyle or other renovation loans, contractors who have done this type of work, or anything else!

Thanks,

Steven

Welcome to BP Steven!

If you ever have any questions, feel free to ask.

Matt Gragg

Hi Steven,

Welcome to bigger pockets.

Great to hear that you're so focused and know exactly what you want to do. I would have a conversation or two with a couple of mortgage bankers or mortgage brokers and get some of the details about the Homestyle loan program. Unfortunately, that particular program usually turns off a lot of investors for one reason or another. It is a great program, but only for a very specific and small portion of the investing population.