Votes
Jonathan Clark
  • Snoqualmie, WA
Votes |
New member from Seattle area -- introduction and questions

Jonathan Clark
  • Snoqualmie, WA
Posted Aug 21 2016, 20:30

Hi BiggerPockets community.   I came across this site searching the internet for information on Real Estate Investing.   This really fits the way I learn and the way I like to work with others.

I’ve read the “UBG” and spent a bunch of time looking at all the references. Wise folks say a good next step is to introduce myself here, so here I am, and here is a bit about me and my grand plans. :) I’ve also got a few questions at the end which I’ll be grateful for your input on.

About Me

I'm Jonathan. I live in Snoqualmie, WA (Seattle area). I'm an experienced stock and options investor and other than having bought and sold my own primary residences, I have no experience in REI. I have a full time job in IT leadership which I'm not planning to leave anytime soon. I'm not looking to start a new career in REI. I am actively building a portfolio of wealth to accelerate my retirement with enough left over to leave my children something to start off with, and I believe real estate has a place there.

What I'm planning to do with Real Estate Investing

1. Prepare. Between now and March 1 of 2017, I will:

• Learn all I can about the business, the state of the market, and where the opportunities are.
  • Determine who I need on my team and network to start those relationships.
  • Set up the structure (e.g. do I need to set up an LLC? get a real estate license? open separate bank accounts etc?)
  • Gather initial funding. On March 1 2017, I will deposit $100K cash into my venture to start with.
  • Prepare for the first deal. I’ll do all the background work, research, etc to be ready to kick off an investment within the month of March 2017.

2. Accumulate. Between March 2017 and March 2027 I will:

•  Continue to grow my portfolio.
  •  Continue to add cash to my portfolio to accelerate my accumulation.