Skip to content
New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes
Ty Stephens
  • Investor
  • Palmer, AK
Votes |
Active Duty Military stationed in Alaska...

Ty Stephens
  • Investor
  • Palmer, AK
Posted Jun 24 2017, 02:46

Hi All,

Just moved up to Anchorage, Alaska after a 17 day, 5,500 mile road trip through Canada. I am currently active duty military and will be stationed here for the next 3-4 years. Originally from Texas and am 29 years old. My fiancé just recently graduated with a DVM from Veterinarian School and has made the move up with me as she plans to start her first job. We've been looking to buy a home in the Eagle River, AK area through my VA Loan benefit with hopes of transitioning it into a rental property once we leave to our next duty location. I've been researching the area for the last 6 months or so. Currently pre-approved on a loan up to $550,000 at 3.9%. Actively talking to real estate agents and lenders in the area as we try to evaluate our situation and make the numbers work for us.

I've been investing in stocks for awhile, and real estate has always been the next step in my plan, and putting my Housing Allowance to work.  Went off the advice of a few senior military officers and my old economics professor suggested Brandon Turner's book... which led me to the podcast...which eventually led me here.