New to BP- Interested in wholesaling

9 Replies

I'm new to Bigger Pockets and am interested in wholesaling. I currently work a full-time job in the legal field and would like to first learn about this business as well as get my feet wet before I make a career transition. I read the book FLIP and it's helped me understand some things that seemed confusing at first, but I would like to learn as much as I can. Any book suggestions, forums or tips are greatly appreciated. 

Thank you! 

Aleli!! Welcome! I'm in the Chicago area! Looking to network, brainstorm & grow my business! I just joined a great nationwide group of investors that are absolutely KILLING IT! I'm pretty excited from what I've seen so far & to be earning & learning from the best in the biz! Message me, let's make some $$! 
Steve

@Aleli Mora

Welcome to the BP family! Glad you joined the best real estate investing website! Here are some recommendations for you:

Find and connect with other BP members that are in your area: http://www.biggerpockets.com/meet
Set up keyword alerts to be notified of the topics that interest you: http://www.biggerpockets.com/alerts
Read Beginner’s Guide: http://www.biggerpockets.com/real-estate-investing
Check out BP Podcasts: http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/category/podcast/

If you wish to tag someone in the conversation on the forum, type @ followed by their name and then select the name of that person which should appear below the comments box. He or she will be notified of being tagged so that the conversation will continue.

Wishing you the best!

Don't wholesale.  That's my advice.  It's a terrible strategy that a lot of newbie's do and it rarely works.  Maybe your market is more conducive than mine, but I have yet to see a new "wholesaler" in my market actually do a deal.

Let's start with this: Why do you want to wholesale?

If your answer is "to have money to put down on flips/rentals" then you're going down the wrong path.  Don't drink the Kool-aid.