Greetings from Lincoln, Nebraska! Totally new and overwhelmed...

11 Replies

Hi,

My name is Tim and I have decided to start learning more about real estate investing. I just bought my first house in July and am excited to learn more from all of you. 

I got a couple of books from the library and started the BP's Beginner's Introction to Real Estate Investing online course. 

Since I am a complete novice, I feel really overwhelmed with where to start. Can anyone give some advice as where my first steps would be to ensure I stay on a focused path of success? 

Thanks in advance!

Tim

Hey @Tim Woosley , welcome. I think you should probably first define what your path of success looks like and then work backwards to reach that goal or to steer towards it. It was hard to tell from your introduction what exactly you want out of RE. 

Hi @Tim Woosley , I just joined too. It took me a little time (read 12 months) to get through the masses of information out there. I decided to just pursue one learning avenue at a time to avoid the overwhelm potential. There is SO much online, to read and to listen to.. I chose podcasts becuase I drive a lot. Now I have a basic but better than nothing idea of the different arms of RE and although I'm only a small step closer to figuring out my niche, I feel far more confident than I did a few months ago. Good Luck!

I agree with @Doug Woodville find your path and don't be scared to take action.  As you grow in this business your path might change and thats fine and will most likely happen.  I would recommend meeting as many investors as you can to help figure out your path.  Good luck and if you ever want to meet up at one of our jobs site let me know.