• Kansas City, MO
Votes |
Hi everyone! Beginner from Kansas City, MO

Amanda Olvera
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Kansas City, MO
Posted Feb 9 2018, 08:04

Hey everyone,

I, like many newbies, have stalked these forums and articles for quite a while.  As I related on my profile, I'm a teacher and have lots of education (and student loan debt!!) but have never really considered myself entrepreneurial.  In fact, I was always afraid of work that didn't guarantee a paycheck.   

I've always loved real estate and wanted to become an agent when I was just out of college but honestly, I was afraid of the 'gamble' of making money through commissions only.  As a kid, and I mean like 8-9 years old, I would watch the J.C. Nichols home show every Sunday morning--this was well before the Internet and realtor.com :)   It was a show sponsored by a local real estate brokerage that advertised their homes for sale.  I watched and marveled, dreaming of owning one of those one day.  Not even remotely considering the potential for an investment at the time, I just watched to see the different designs, decor and fancy schmancy pools and landscaping.  I was a small town kid and we didn't have any homes that looked like those 'city' palaces!  I was in awe.